Rhonda Ehgoetz Elected as Perth County Warden for 2022-2023

  • Council   Friday, December 2, 2022   

In an election held on December 1, 2022 at the Best Western Arden Park Hotel in Stratford, Perth County Council elected Rhonda Ehgoetz, the Mayor of Perth East, as Warden of Perth County. The position of Warden is elected each year and the 2022-2023 term will be the first term for Ehgoetz as Warden.

Warden Ehgoetz has served twenty-two years in politics with twelve years serving on County Council. Three of her terms on County Council have been serving in the role of Deputy Warden alongside Jim Aitcheson. During her time on County Council, she has served as County representative on all but one of the Boards and Committees.

 “I want to thank past Warden Jim (Aitcheson) for his time serving as Warden for the past 3 terms. I look forward to stepping into this new role, and appreciate the support of my fellow Council members.” said Ehgoetz. “The County has a lot of exciting projects and priorities to move forward over the coming year and I look forward to leading Council through these tasks.”

“I look forward to working as a team alongside staff to continue progress towards a new Official Plan, updated Strategic Plan, and the ongoing construction on the County’s Courthouse Campus.” said Ehgoetz. “It remains my main goal to continue making Perth County a great place to live, work, and play.”

In addition to the election of Ehgoetz as Warden, Doug Kellum, Deputy Mayor for North Perth, was acclaimed to the role of Deputy Warden. “I am grateful for the opportunity to be Deputy Warden. This will bring a new facet to my role on County Council.” said Kellum. “I look forward to working alongside Warden Ehgoetz and staff for the upcoming term.”

“On behalf of County staff, I want to extend my heartfelt congratulations to Warden Ehgoetz and Deputy Warden Kellum on their election and acclamation respectively.” said Chief Administrative Officer Lori Wolfe. “We look forward to working together over the coming year to continue work on a variety of exciting projects and initiatives.”

Perth County Council is comprised of 10 members representing the four lower-tier Municipalities: The Municipality of North Perth, The Township of Perth South, The Township of Perth East, and The Municipality of West Perth).

Perth County Council Members 2022-2026

Municipality of North Perth
Todd Kasenberg, Mayor
Doug Kellum, Deputy Mayor
Matt Duncan, Councillor

Township of Perth East
Rhonda Ehgoetz, Mayor
Hugh McDermid, Deputy Mayor
Jerry Smith, Councillor

Township of Perth South
Jim Aitcheson, Mayor
Sue Orr, Deputy Mayor

Municipality of West Perth
Walter McKenzie, Mayor
Dean Trentowsky, Deputy Mayor